New Toys

When my friend dropped her kids’ old exersaucer off she said, “I know what you’re thinking – ‘I don’t want this honking big thing in my house.’ But trust me. Baby’ll love it.”


A new addition to our baby vocabulary, an exersaucer is something the baby can wobble but not move around in, though his feet will touch the ground, so that he can practice standing.

Once upon a time I wouldn’t have even considered bringing this primary colored monstrosity into my house. Then I spent a minute rotating the chair from station to station, honking the horns, spinning the steering wheel, rattling the various rattling thingamabobs, feeling like an infant Captain Kirk at his command consul. And now, to my noise-sensitive cat’s dismay, I’m a fan.

I even want one for myself. I’ve imagined all the grown-up things it would be stocked with, the internet, a wii, some just-right crossword puzzles, maybe some light weights, and a mini-bar (the sauce in the adult exersaucer). Of course the chair would have to vibrate. The saucers can even be linked: one for baby, one for daddy. Moms would love it.

That’s it–my fortune’s made. Look for the ad on daytime TV.

2 Responses to “New Toys”


  1. 1 cindy April 21, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    i feel like nemo will take these changes harder than anybody else. from what i understand, he is rather fragile.

    • 2 briangresko April 21, 2009 at 8:38 pm

      Agreed! He hates the rattling things and bright colors. He likes to play all tough, but he’s a scaredy cat at heart.


Leave a Reply

