The Big Bird

Last weekend the nesting instinct kicked in hardcore, maybe too hardcore. I woke up at 3AM on Saturday morning and couldn’t get back to sleep for over an hour, going over all the things I want/need to do before baby comes. Not that I have a lot to stress about, as I’ve been staying on my game. But of course, in the middle of the night, the picture didn’t look so rosy.

Besides some spring cleaning, I took advantage of the mild weather to rebuild a crumbling wall in the garden, turn the compost pile, and transplant a bunch of things – with the help of S. Third trimester and still digging in the dirt!

She’s actually found this trimester to be, so far, the most stable one. Sure, she’s really big and often exhausted at the end of the day (that’s been the case throughout the pregnancy). But a lot of the aches and pains have faded as most of her growing is done, and it seems, from my perspective anyway, that she’s come to know how hard she can push herself during the day, and what kind of recovery she’ll need at night to get herself up the next morning. It’s pretty inspiring, seeing her up before seven and in good spirits while I lounge in bed, groaning.

Anyway, it was an appropriate weekend to fluff the nest (or do you prune a nest?), as we celebrated a year of eloped bliss on Saturday. Last March we never would have thought that we’d see our anniversary as almost a three-some, and if we did, I think we might have freaked out. We were already pretty nervous about the whole thing. But what a difference a year makes.

When I was younger I thought that marriage meant stagnation, boredom, and sacrificing dreams, and yet the past twelve months have been full of excitement, movement, and change. And we’re looking forward to this coming year with an even greater sense of anticipation. Exciting times.

S hasn’t been the only one around here growing!

2 Responses to “The Big Bird”


  1. 1 Daniel March 26, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    You know, until you mentioned it here, I’d totally forgotten those cliches about marriage and stagnation. The missus and I just celebrated our two short years, and, with all the rough patches, it’s been life cranked up to eleven: fun, growth, irritation, bliss.

    Good for you and S. You rock.

    • 2 briangresko March 27, 2009 at 9:37 am

      Thanks Daniel! Those cliches were with me for a long time, sometimes operating at a really deep level. And of course there’s still traces of them lingering that I have to seek out and exorcise. I think I watched too many Woody Allen movies as an impressionable young adult, specifically Husbands and Wives. And Henry Miller played a part as well. Age finds me searching for new male paradigms, or less interested in paradigms entirely, and more in doing what feels right for me. Life cranked to eleven, here we come!! I love it.


Leave a Reply

