Thoughts on Stuff

I’m going to try and stay away from Babies R’Us from now on, because all the junk in there overwhelms me. Do we really need ten different baby slingy things to choose from? Or a hundred stroller models? Or a million accessories to pimp our Pack’n Play? The thought of spending hours trying on Boppy’s and Baby Bjorn’s makes me want to shoot myself in the foot.

Maybe I’m a bad, miserly parent, but I have the same relationship with a lot of my stuff, like clothes for example. My closet has linen button-ups for the summer and plaid button-ups for the winter, and a stack of tee shirts, all the same size, all from the same store, to wear underneath. This makes it easy to get dressed, because I only have to pick out the color I want. Too many options and I get overwhelmed trying things on, and then change my mind and try other things on, and generally waste time. For me, less is more.

When it comes to baby stuff, I’d ideally like someone to tell me what to buy. However, we’ve heard that even if you pick out what you think is the right thing the baby might not like it. To that I say: He can suck it up.

Seriously though, we’ll probably wait till baby’s old enough to test drive some of the equipment on his own, that way we’re sure to get things that work for him. It doesn’t seem like you really need that much stuff for a newborn. All they do is eat, sleep, and shit for a bunch of weeks. And we’ve already inherited some of the necessities from generous friends.

But ok, you’ve got me. Really the only reason I’m writing about baby things is because I want to put a picture of the little puppy dog lamp we bought in Chinatown.

Ruff!  Ruff!

Ruff! Ruff!


Now that’s the kind of cute ass stuff I like shopping for.

3 Responses to “Thoughts on Stuff”


  1. 1 cindym March 13, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    very cute. i like the shrooms too.

  2. 3 Steve Greenwood March 19, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    I completely agree with you on this one Brian. We got totally stressed out shopping for baby stuff. we went to BRU (trust me, you’ll gain that level of familiarity) with list and baby bargains book in hand, but there’s just so much CRAP! and it is true that you won’t need a ton of clothes, or a bunch of stuff for him to ride around in, for a while. so give him some time, and give yourselves a break.


Leave a Reply

