Sympathetic Sleepiness

“Being pregnant is exhausting!” S told me last night. She’s been tired all week. She naps for about an hour or more after work, then goes to bed early, and sleeps as late as she can before getting up for work. Last Friday night she was out around 9:30, and slept till 8 the next morning, then took a two hour nap in the afternoon. She’s up and down a lot at night to pee, and also has trouble falling back asleep because she feels nauseous and headachy in the middle of the night, which is probably from hunger. Her appetite comes on quick and if she doesn’t eat she quickly starts feeling ill.

I’ve been doing my best to support her by making dinners and doing the dishes (when I’m not at class), trying to cater to her eating needs (she’s craving veggies and carbs and avoiding meats), doing chores around the house, and holding her when she’s feeling peepsy. But I’ve found myself tired as well. Is she giving off sleepy vibes, exhaling lots of carbon dioxide? Disrupting my sleep cycles with her ups and downs? Or maybe I’m just tired from the emotional highs and lows of the past week, the happiness at sharing the news with people, the euphoria that I’ve found sneaking up on me at random times during the day, and the anxieties that needle their way in sometimes too. There’s just been such a lot of change to think about in such a short amount of time – it is exhausting!

2 Responses to “Sympathetic Sleepiness”


  1. 1 John M. April 12, 2009 at 9:00 am

    “peepsy”?
    I’m pretty sure I often feel peepsy and need to be held by DR, but this word is still new and mysterious to me.

    • 2 briangresko April 13, 2009 at 10:37 am

      It’s part of our relationship jargon. Do all couples develop their own vocabulary? Peepsy is something like sleepy and pooped but also means feeling a bit down, a little needy. See also: meepsy


Leave a Reply

