Friday Morning, September 26

It rained off and on throughout the night last Thursday, and I was up and down with it. Friday morning the sky looked leaden and dark, and we overslept – my wife forgot to set the alarm clock, which hardly ever happens – and with the dim light we didn’t naturally wake up, as we often do. When she realized she was running late she got up and took a shower and I fell back into sleep. Then she said my name from the bathroom.

“What’s up?”

“Uh… I think I’m pregnant.”

“Get the hell out!”

But she had secretly taken a test the night before and it came out positive, and now she was staring at a second test, also positive.

My head felt so tired and strange. I knew that I was awake and that this was real, but there was a veil of unreality over it.

“Is it ok if I take some time before I react to this emotionally? I’m kind of shocked right now,” I told her.

Then she came over to the bed in her towel and we hugged. She was shocked too.

0 Responses to “Friday Morning, September 26”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

